Studio Newsletter with Calendar

tar-of-show Erin Moran out of her wig, Nancy, & Mollie Moran after Thoroughly Modern Millie; and Nick Lormand and Nan
October 2017

Welcome to New and Returning Students!

Bernadette O. is joining the Denver contingent via FaceTime in order to sing better in her adult church choir and to learn to sightread better. Welcome, Bernadette!

Stephanie M., our wonderful Denver piano collaborator, is returning to the studio for more voice lessons. She has a choir-accompanist job now that occasionally calls for her to lead the sections. More knowledge is never wasted! Welcome back, Steph!

CALENDAR UPDATE—CHANGE FROM LAST MONTH!
In January of 2018, the studio is going to be closed from the 4-8th for the MTNA SW Division competition in Las Vegas, and the 11th-15th for the NATS Regional competitions in Salt Lake City. Astrid is competing in both, and I must judge for her to be eligible. Thursday students not involved with these events will need one makeup lesson (the other was already factored into the tuition). Saturday students may come on Nov 25 for the makeup.
Denver Events

Our Fall Fling recital was absolutely terrific! And dinner afterward at the Yardhouse was great (if noisy)! I’m looking forward to coming back in May!

Phoenix Events

Don’t forget that rehearsal with Amanda for NATS is on Friday, Oct 27 (Ireland at 6:40 pm-7:20 pm and Alexa from 7:20-8 pm). Oct 28 is our October group class at 2:15 Group class (no Astrid—performing in The Crucible); and the East Valley NATS Student Auditions for MT/CCM will be on Nov 4 & 5 at ASU in Tempe.

On Dec 2, at 3 pm, we will give our first recital here in Phoenix at my home, accompanied by Amanda! Our audience can join in on some carol singing, as well! Bring your family!

Off-beat Experiences of Professionals

“I was doing Knock Knock when I was a young pup doing community theater in Durango, CO…The set had two levels because of the whole bedroom farce “thang”…I was onstage with another actor doing our bit, and this other (third) actor is supposed to make an entrance from one of the doors upstairs when there was this loud crash and sounds of wood hitting the floor. We got to the cue line for the other character’s entrance from upstairs and he walks in the front door, which is downstairs, looking a little worse for wear, (and) delivered his line while the rest of us on stage were caught between laughter and tears. Turned out that the entire back part of the set had collapsed with the actor on it.“ (A D Comte)

KUDOS!

Astrid’s voice sounded beautiful in the VSNATS Master Class conducted by Mark Hayes in Phoenix on Oct.19. She is performing the part of Betty Parris in The Crucible on Oct 26-28!

Elena plays Helena in Midsummer’s Night Dream on Nov 2-4!

Alexa plays the Grandmother in The Sparrow on Nov 6-19!


Cheers, Nance

 
STUDIO CALENDAR

ALL FOLLOWING DATES (EXCEPT NATIONAL HOLIDAYS) ARE TENTATIVE AND SUBJECT TO CHANGE
​(
Green is Denver only, Blue is Phoenix only, Red is studio closed, White is everyone)

Wed, Nov 1—Tuition DUE! After the 5th, please add $5 late fee.
Nov 4 & 5—VSNATS Music Theatre Student Auditions at ASU in Tempe 
Nov 5— Daylight Savings
Nov 10 & 11—Veteran’s Day celebrated STUDIO CLOSED!
Thur, Nov 16—EVMTA meeting
Sun, Nov 19, 2 pm—DAMTA Musicale at Classic Pianos of Denver, 1332 S Broadway, Denver 80210
Thur, Nov 23— Happy Thanksgiving! ​STUDIO CLOSED Nov 23-Nov 24
Sat, Nov 25--Lessons resume​

​​Fri, Dec 1—Tuition DUE! After the 5th, please add $5 late fee.
Sat, Dec 2, 3 pm—Phoenix RECITAL
STUDIO CLOSED Dec 17-Jan 1
Sun, Dec 24— Christmas Eve
Mon, Dec 25— Merry Christmas!

Mon, Jan 1—Happy New Year, 2018! Tuition DUE! After the 5th, please add $5 late fee.
Tue, Jan 2—Lessons resume today only
STUDIO CLOSED (for MTNA SW Division competition in Las Vegas) Jan​ 5-7
Tues, Jan  9--Lessons resume today only ​
STUDIO CLOSED (for Cal-West Regional NATS auditions) Jan 11-15
Tues, Jan 16—lessons resume
Thur, Jan 18—EVMTA meeting
Sun, Jan 21, 2 pm—DAMTA Musicale at Classic Pianos of Denver, 1332 S Broadway, Denver 80210
Sat, Jan 27, 1:30—Phoenix Group Class

Thurs, Feb 1—Tuition DUE! After the 5th, please add $5 late fee.
​Fri, Feb 2—Happy Groundhog Day!

Wed, Feb 14—Happy Valentine’s Day!
Thur, Feb 15—EVMTA meeting
Sun, Feb 18, 2 pm—DAMTA Musicale at Classic Pianos of Denver, 1332 S Broadway, Denver 80210
Mon, Feb 19—Presidents’ Day​
Sat, Feb 24, 1:30—Phoenix Group Class
End of month—submission deadline for Arizona Musicfest vocal competition (www.azmusicfest.org)

Sat, Mar 1—Tuition DUE! After the 5th, please add $5 late fee.
Sun, Mar 11—Daylight Savings begins (Denver, set clocks back!)
Thur, Mar 15—EVMTA meeting
Sat, Mar 17—Happy St Patrick’s Day!
Sun, Mar 18, 2 pm—DAMTA Musicale at Classic Pianos of Denver, 1332 S Broadway, Denver 80210​​
Tues, Mar 20—First Day of Spring!
Sat, Mar 31, 1:30—Phoenix Group Class

Sat, Apr 1—Tuition DUE! After the 5th, please add $5 late fee
Sun, Apr 1—Easter
Sun, Apr 15, 2 pm—DAMTA Musicale at Classic Pianos of Denver, 1332 S Broadway, Denver 80210​
Tues, Apr 17—Tax Day
Wed, Apr 18—Arizona Musicfest Vocal Competition
Thur, Apr 19—EVMTA meeting
Sun, Apr 22—Earth Day
Sat, Apr 28, 1:30—Phoenix Group Class

Tues, May 1—Tuition DUE! After the 5th, please add $5 late fee (LAST contract-year tuition payment)
STUDIO CLOSED May 4-10
May 4-10—N in Denver for Recital (5th), DAMTA Teachers Concert (9th)
Thur, May 11—classes resume
Sun, May 13—Happy Mother’s Day!
Thur, May 17—EVMTA meeting
Sun, May 20, 2 pm—DAMTA Musicale at Classic Pianos of Denver, 1332 S Broadway, Denver 80210​
Sat, May 26, 3 pm—Phoenix  RECITAL
STUDIO CLOSED May 27-June 4
Mon, May 28—Memorial Day
May 31-June 3—ASMTA Conference

June 5-July 28–-8-week summer session begins
Sun, Jun 17—Happy Father’s Day!
Sat, Jun 30, 1:30—Phoenix Group Class

Wed, Jul 4—Happy Independence Day!
Sat, Jul 28, 1:30—Phoenix Group Class
STUDIO CLOSED Jul 28-Aug 13

Wed, Aug 1—FIRST of 10 averaged Contract-year Tuitions DUE! After the 5th, please add $5 late fee
​August 14—start of 2018-2019 Contract Year




​​



Au