Studio Newsletter with Calendar

tar-of-show Erin Moran out of her wig, Nancy, & Mollie Moran after Thoroughly Modern Millie; and Nick Lormand and Nan
August 2017

Current Lesson Openings: Accepting up to three (3) new students at this time!

School is about to start! New adventures!!!

Welcome back, Everyone!

Please don’t forget that your FIRST AVERAGED CONTRACT-YEAR TUITION PAYMENT is due on August 1! October 7 is our Fall Recital in Denver, and November 4 is the Phoenix NATS Student MT/CCM Auditions. Lots to prep for, Folks! Get those words memorized!

KUDOS!
Welcome to Dan Y., a new adult student in Denver! Dan plays guitar and loves music. He is doing the smart thing by protecting his voice from potential rock-music damage. He plans to sing with us at our October recital!

Congrats to Eryn and Tay on the release of their new album from their rock group Hot Apostles! Catherine is back from leading a college group all over Ireland, this summer. Want to hear her tales!

Looking forward to hearing about Astrid’s Broadway camp in NYC! She took Gorgeous and My Funny Valentine as her working songs there.

Phoenix Events
Potential dates for recitals are Dec 2 and May 26. These will be confirmed later, as we may be splitting a recital with a piano teacher.
Our first Group Class will be on Saturday, Aug. 26, at 1:30. I have some Scat sheets for us to work on with our jazz songs.

Helpful Hints
From Robert Irwin, a voice instructor in New Jersey who works with many Broadway “kids”, published in NATS Journal:

Student: I had the best voice of all the singers there, so why didn’t I get the part?

Teacher: An audition is about more than just voice. What’s being evaluated is body type, acting, intonation, phrasing, movement, stylistic accuracy, presence . . . as well as tonal quality. Your very nice legit voice may not have been what they were looking for, if what they were looking for was more of a pop voice. Also, you’re tall for a girl, so the male lead opposite you would generally need to be taller than you. You’re 5’9” and I’m 6’5” so we match up fairly well. However, if I’m 5’7”, it may not work in spite of your voice. Remember, the higher the level of competition, the more the competitors. The more competitors, the more selective the competitors’ evaluators can be. Being “right” for the part gets harder and harder the higher up the performing food chain you attempt to go. Think of any major professional sport. Then think of the Met, Broadway, and the Contemporary Commercial Music charts. Not much room at the top, is there? Now let’s get back to work to increase your chances of success!

Off-beat experiences of professionals:
“Kathleen, were you performing Beethoven’s 9th with us at the Hollywood Bowl that night when the 3 raccoons came out on the stage, then stopped down center and turned and looked at the audience? I think it was the same night that Lukas Foss was conducting and fell off the podium when he cued in the alto section.

Oh, and for me, also, I was the celesta soloist for Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairies with my HS orchestra. We hadn’t had a lot of rehearsal, so I was pretty much sight reading. Someone opened the door to the gymnasium, where we were performing, and a giant gust of wind blew my music off the stand just as I started all those runs in the middle of the piece. Didn’t go well. One of the most embarrassing moments of my life..” (Cheryl Cameron)

ALUM KUDOS!
Catherine W.F, who studied with me in high school and went on to get bachelor and masters’ degrees in Musical Theatre and performing professionally for a while after that, has been in the business world for a while now. She has just been accepted to the Columbia University Executive Master of Healthcare Management in NYC. Musicians can do anything!

Nicolas L., a bass who also studied with me through high school, has been filming threatened birds and their sanctuary in Belize for the past few years. This fall he begins his master’s degree work on Aviary Conservation (I think that’s what it’s called!). Music and science and math go hand in hand!

Kerry Knuppe’s movie, Solver, has released a trailer, available online. And she was also interviewed and on the cover of the magazine FLIP! She can be found on FaceBook.

Jonathan R., a bari-tenor who studied with me from age 9 through high school and occasionally during college, has joined a new group, Moonglade, as their lead vocalist. They can be found on FaceBook, as well.

Cheers, Nance
 
STUDIO CALENDAR

ALL FOLLOWING DATES (EXCEPT NATIONAL HOLIDAYS) ARE TENTATIVE AND SUBJECT TO CHANGE
​(
Green is Denver only, Blue is Phoenix only, Red is studio closed, White is everyone)

STUDIO CLOSED—July 30-Aug 14

Tues, Aug 1—First of 10 Contract-Year Tuition Payments DUE! After Aug 5, please add $5 late fee.
Tues, Aug 15— Begin contract teaching year
Thur, Aug 17—EVMTA meeting
Sat, Aug 26, 1:30—Phoenix Group Class


Fri, Sept 1—Tuition DUE! After the 5th, please add $5 late fee.
Mon, Sept 4—Labor Day
​Sun, Sept 17, 2 pm—DAMTA Musicale at Classic Pianos of Denver, 1332 S Broadway, Denver 80210
Thur, Sept 21—EVMTA meeting
Sat, Sept 30, 1:30—Phoenix Group Class


Sun, Oct 1—Tuition DUE! After the 5th, please add $5 late fee.
STUDIO CLOSED FOR NEXT TWO WEEKS Oct 6-22
​Sat, Oct 7—Denver Students’ Fall Fling 3 pm Rehearsal & 4:15 Recital, Rockley’s Music, 8555 W. Colfax Ave., Lakewood CO 80215
Mon, Oct 9—Columbus Day
Wed, Oct 11—N at DAMTA meeting
Sun, Oct 15, 2 pm—DAMTA Musicale—N hostess​

Thur, Oct 19—EVMTA meeting
Sat, Oct 28, 1:30—Phoenix Group Class
Tue, Oct 31—EVMTA Fall Recital registration due,
and HAPPY HALLOWEEN!

Wed, Nov 1—Tuition DUE! After the 5th, please add $5 late fee.
Thur, Nov 2—Phoenix students rehearse with NATS accompanist
Nov 4 & 5—VSNATS Music Theatre Student Auditions at ASU in Tempe 

Nov 5— Daylight Savings
Nov 10 & 11—Veteran’s Day celebrated
Thur, Nov 16—EVMTA meeting
Sun, Nov 19, 2 pm—DAMTA Musicale at Classic Pianos of Denver, 1332 S Broadway, Denver 80210
Thur, Nov 23— Happy Thanksgiving!
​STUDIO CLOSED Nov 23-Nov 27

​​Fri, Dec 1—Tuition DUE! After the 5th, please add $5 late fee.
Sat, Dec 2, 1:30—Phoenix Group Class/RECITAL
STUDIO CLOSED Dec 17-Jan 1
Sun, Dec 24— Christmas Eve
Mon, Dec 25— Merry Christmas!

Mon, Jan 1—Happy New Year, 2018! Tuition DUE! After the 5th, please add $5 late fee.
Tue, Jan 2—Lessons resume for one week
STUDIO CLOSED (for Cal-West NATS) Jan 11-15
Fri, Jan 12—Travel to Salt Lake City, Utah
Sat-Sun, Jan 13 & 14—Cal-West NATS Regional Auditions in Salt Lake City
Mon, Jan 15—MLK Day, Travel home from Salt Lake City

Tues, Jan 16—lessons resume
Thur, Jan 18—EVMTA meeting
Sun, Jan 21, 2 pm—DAMTA Musicale at Classic Pianos of Denver, 1332 S Broadway, Denver 80210
Sat, Jan 27, 1:30—Phoenix Group Class

Thurs, Feb 1—Tuition DUE! After the 5th, please add $5 late fee.
​Fri, Feb 2—Happy Groundhog Day!

Wed, Feb 14—Happy Valentine’s Day!
Thur, Feb 15—EVMTA meeting
Sun, Feb 18, 2 pm—DAMTA Musicale at Classic Pianos of Denver, 1332 S Broadway, Denver 80210
Mon, Feb 19—Presidents’ Day​
Sat, Feb 24, 1:30—Phoenix Group Class
End of month—submission deadline for Arizona Musicfest vocal competition (www.azmusicfest.org)

Sat, Mar 1—Tuition DUE! After the 5th, please add $5 late fee.
Sun, Mar 11—Daylight Savings begins (Denver, set clocks back!)
Thur, Mar 15—EVMTA meeting
Sat, Mar 17—Happy St Patrick’s Day!
Sun, Mar 18, 2 pm—DAMTA Musicale at Classic Pianos of Denver, 1332 S Broadway, Denver 80210​​
Tues, Mar 20—First Day of Spring!
Sat, Mar 31, 1:30—Phoenix Group Class

Sat, Apr 1—Tuition DUE! After the 5th, please add $5 late fee
Sun, Apr 1—Easter
Sun, Apr 15, 2 pm—DAMTA Musicale at Classic Pianos of Denver, 1332 S Broadway, Denver 80210​
Tues, Apr 17—Tax Day
Wed, Apr 18—Arizona Musicfest Vocal Competition
Thur, Apr 19—EVMTA meeting
Sun, Apr 22—Earth Day
Sat, Apr 28, 1:30—Phoenix Group Class

Tues, May 1—Tuition DUE! After the 5th, please add $5 late fee (LAST contract-year tuition payment)
STUDIO CLOSED May 4-10
May 4-10—N in Denver for Recital (5th), DAMTA Teachers Concert (9th)
Thur, May 11—classes resume
Sun, May 13—Happy Mother’s Day!
Thur, May 17—EVMTA meeting
Sun, May 20, 2 pm—DAMTA Musicale at Classic Pianos of Denver, 1332 S Broadway, Denver 80210​
Sat, May 26, 1:30—Phoenix Group Class/ RECITAL
STUDIO CLOSED May 27-June 4
Mon, May 28—Memorial Day
May 31-June 3—ASMTA Conference

June 5-July 28–-8-week summer session begins
Sun, Jun 17—Happy Father’s Day!
Sat, Jun 30, 1:30—Phoenix Group Class

Wed, Jul 4—Happy Independence Day!
Sat, Jul 28, 1:30—Phoenix Group Class
STUDIO CLOSED Jul 28-Aug 13

Wed, Aug 1—FIRST of 10 averaged Contract-year Tuitions DUE! After the 5th, please add $5 late fee
​August 14—start of 2018-2019 Contract Year




​​



Au