Studio Newsletter with Calendar

tar-of-show Erin Moran out of her wig, Nancy, & Mollie Moran after Thoroughly Modern Millie; and Nick Lormand and Nan
September 2018

KUDOS!
The start of another year is always exciting! What new songs will we explore? What break-throughs on voice and acting will we make? We’ve gotten off to a good start in the last week and a half, so KUDOS to you all! The Denver Fall Recital and AZNATS Student Auditions will be here before we can blink!

A little more about Astrid—after winning one of the four 2018 Bel Canto Institute Performance Awards, Astrid joined the other winners in a recital sponsored by the New Paltz Musicales concert series in New York. All three of the other performers had already graduated from college with Vocal Performance degrees, two were in graduate school from Denmark and Finland, and the only other American graduated from Stanford. Astrid was at least six years younger than the other winners! Way to go, Astrid!

WELCOME to Matt Murphy, an adult who also studies guitar here in AZ. Matt is smart, wanting to learn how it all works and how to protect his voice!


PHOENIX EVENTS
Because Astrid is now in Europe and Ireland is heavily into basketball, taking only occasional drop-in lessons, I’ve cancelled Saturday group classes until I have more local students who wish to participate. The fall recital has also been cancelled, but the spring recital will now be a Senior Recital—a culmination of Alexa’s vocal and acting studies, as well as the last recital in Phoenix before we move back to Colorado!

DENVER EVENTS
Sept 23 and Oct 21 are the dates for the DAMTA student musicales. Save Nov 3 to rehearse for our Nov 10 recital!

OFF-BEAT EXPERIENCES OF PROFESSIONALS

“I performed in a master class once and had a major memory slip. It was the first time I’d performed in a master class, and I was feeling pretty anxious about it. I gave my score to the person giving the master class, then went and sat at the piano. And I sat. And I sat. I couldn’t remember the notes to start the piece! I sheepishly got up, walked across the stage, asked to look at the music. Somehow, I managed to perform reasonably well. Nonetheless, it’s my worst music memory; I’m still embarrassed when I think about it…some 20 years later.” Michael Ware

​​
PERSONAL NOTE​
My vision is much better, with only a little cloudiness in the left eye after my cataract surgeries, and that should go away soon! Yay! Both Mel and I have reached stability in our health, for which we are grateful!

As always, I would love to share your adventures in all fields with my students, both current and former, so do drop me a note about your activities, please!
Cheers, Nance

STUDIO CALENDAR

ALL FOLLOWING DATES (EXCEPT NATIONAL HOLIDAYS) ARE TENTATIVE AND SUBJECT TO CHANGE
​(
Green is Denver only, Blue is Phoenix only, Red is studio closed, White is everyone)

Sat, Sept 1—2nd of 10 monthly tuition payments due
Mon, Sept 3—Labor Day
Mon, Sept 10—Rosh Hashanah
Wed, Sept 19—Yom Kippur

Mon, Oct 1—3rd of 10 monthly tuition payments due
Mon, Oct 8—Columbus Day and Indigenous People Day
Sat, Oct 6—1:30 pm Phoenix rehearsal with NATS/Recital accompanist
STUDIO CLOSED FALL BREAK—Oct 7-15
Sun, Oct 21, 2 pm—DAMTA Student Musicale
Wed, Oct 31—Happy Halloween!

Thur, Nov 1—4th of 10 monthly tuition payments due
Sat, Nov 3, 2 pm—Denver rehearse with Stephanie
Sun, Nov 4—Daylight Savings begins
Tues, Nov 6—Election Day
STUDIO CLOSED NOV 9-12
Sat, Nov 10, 4 pm—Denver Fall Fling Recital & Potluck, Erin & Jason’s home
Sun, Nov 11—Veteran’s Day
Mon, Nov 12—Veteran’s Day observed
STUDIO CLOSED NOV14-26
Wed, Nov 14—DAMTA meeting
Fri, Nov 16—Sun, Nov 18—AZ NATS Student Auditions
Sun, Nov 18, 2 pm—DAMTA Musicale
Thur, Nov 22—Happy Thanksgiving!

​​​​​​Sat, Dec 1—5th of 10 monthly tuition payments due
Mon, Dec 3—Happy Hanukkah!
STUDIO CLOSED DEC 19—JAN 4
Tues, Dec 25—Merry Christmas!
Wed, Dec 26—Kwanzaa
Mon, Dec 31—Happy New Year’s Eve!

Tues, Jan 1, 2019 (New Year’s Day)—6th of 10 monthly tuition payments due
Sat, Jan 5—Phx rehearse with accompanist
Fri, Jan 18–Sun, Jan 20—Cal-West NATS Regional Student Auditions
Sun, Jan 20, 2 pm —DAMTA Student Musicale
Mon, Jan 21—Martin Luther King Day
​​Sat, Jan 26, 1:30—Phoenix group class

Fri, Feb 1—7th of 10 monthly tuition payments due
Sat, Feb 2—Groundhog Day
Tues, Feb 5—Lunar New Year
Thur, Feb 14—Happy St Valentine’s Day!
Sun, Feb 17, 2 pm—DAMTA Student Musicale
Mon, Feb 18—President’s Day
Sat, Feb 23, 1:30—Phoenix group class

Fri, Mar 1—8th of 10 monthly tuition payments due
STUDIO CLOSED SPRING BREAK Mar10-15
Sun, Mar 10—Daylight Savings ends
Sun, Mar 17—Happy St Patrick’s Day! 2 pm DAMTA Student Musicale
Wed, Mar 20—Spring Equinox!
Sat, Mar 30, 1:30—Phoenix group class

Mon, Apr 1 (APRIL FOOL’S DAY)—9th of 10 monthly tuition payments due
Sun, Apr 14—Palm Sunday, DAMTA Student Musicale at Classic Pianos
Mon, Apr 15—Tax Day
Fri, Apr 19—Good Friday
Sat, Apr 20—Passover; Denver students rehearse with Stephanie
Sun, Apr 21—Happy Easter!
Mon, Apr 22—Earth Day
Sat, Apr 27—Phoenix students rehearse with accompanist*

​​
Wed, May 1 (MAY DAY!)—10th of 10 monthly tuition payments due STUDIO CLOSED MAY 3-8
Sat, May 4, 4 pm—Denver Spring Fling Recital & Potluck, Erin & Jason’s home
Sun, May 5—Cinco de Mayo, 1st Day of Ramadan
Wed, May 8, 10:30 am—Nancy sing at DAMTA Teachers Musicale at Classic Pianos
Sun, May 12—Happy Mother’s Day!
Sat, May 18, 4 pm—Phoenix Spring Fling Recital at Nancy’s home
Sun, May 19 — DAMTA Student Musicale at Classic Pianos
Mon, May 27—Memorial Day
Tues, May 28—last day of lessons for contract year

Thur, June 6—ASMTA Conference starts



​​



Au