Studio Newsletter with Calendar

tar-of-show Erin Moran out of her wig, Nancy, & Mollie Moran after Thoroughly Modern Millie; and Nick Lormand and Nan
Jan 2020

NEW YORK:

Alum Astrid is applying to multiple music colleges for next year, while finishing her senior year at Professional Children’s HS and the Juilliard Pre-college program. Busy!

CALIFORNIA:

Alum Kerry Knuppe is playing Ruby in the movie, All Those Small Things!

Phoenix:

 Matt Murphy has finished recording the first three of his songs for his country-western album, and we’re starting work on the second set of three.

Texas

Alum William Mason II drove home to Houston on Nov 23 to record an album, so was unable to be at the recital. They worked first on improving his instrumentation, and started recording his vocals on Nov 26. (I was asked to give feedback, as I’ve been doing on Matt’s album.) He has grown so much in understanding musical harmonies since last I heard him! He does all of the backup tracks as well, and the mixes are wonderful! Well done, Will!

Denver:

On Dec 7, we had a WONDERFUL recital and potluck at Erin and Jason’s home! Mallory Bernstein was a great piano collaborator! In addition to songs by Tay, Bernadette, Erin, and myself, we successfully threw Stephanie’s Skype image onto the big screen, so that she could sing for us, and we welcomed two of my alum students, Alex Young and Pablo Romero-Ordenano, to share their songs, as well! Great music, great food, and great fun was had by all! Next up: May 30 and any Music Teacher Association musicales between now and then.

Tay’s movie is back into production, so he had to dash away after singing to drive up to Monte Vista in the mountains for a shoot the following day. That last picture is him looking fierce on site!
​​
Personal Notes:

As if the holidays and everything else weren’t enough, I’ve been working on four presentations—two for the local American Sewing Guild on hat-making in January and faux fur in March, plus an all-day Fascinator workshop also in January; a four-session course on Vocal Exercising for Seniors at the request of UCHealth’s Aspen Club (a support organization for elders). I was also selected to do a presentation on Keyboard Singing for the annual CSMTA Conference at the end of May, down in Highlands Ranch. I had done it several times in Arizona and will be giving the same presentation for DAMTA in April, so will have a fourth opportunity to present this program. I really enjoy doing these kinds of events!

In addition, as my voice is now recovering from the medications I was on for the breast cancer, I will be singing for the Spice of Life in Chandler, AZ, in March; and plan to sing for the DAMTA Teachers’ Musicale in May, as well as our next Denver Recital, both in May. Keeping my head in the game is really important for my mental and emotional health, as well as teaching.


Cheers, Nance

STUDIO CALENDAR

ALL FOLLOWING DATES (EXCEPT NATIONAL HOLIDAYS) ARE TENTATIVE AND SUBJECT TO CHANGE
​(
Green is Denver only, Blue is Phoenix only, Red is studio closed, White is everyone)

2020
Wed, Jan 1–6th of 10 tuition payments due—Happy New Year!
Sun, Jan 6—Lessons resume
Wed, Jan 8—Happy Birthday to Erin!
Sat, Jan 11, 3 pm—Denver Group Class at Erin and Jason ’s home,
Sun, Jan 19—DAMTA Student Musicale
Mon, Jan 20—Martin Luther King Day

​​
Sat Feb 1–7th of 10 tuition payments due
​Sat, Feb 8, 3 pm—
Denver Group Class at Erin and Jason’s home,​ Happy Birthday to Alexa!
Sun, Feb 16—DAMTA Student Musicale​
Mon, Feb 17—President’s Day

​Sun, Mar 1—8th of 10 tuition payments due
​Sat, Mar 7, 3 pm—Denver Group Class at Erin and Jason’s home, Happy Birthday to Astrid!
​Mar 8-23—
STUDIO CLOSED, Daylight Savings STARTS; Nancy in AZ
​Sat, Mar 14—
Phoenix recital rehearsal, time & location TBD
​Wed, Mar 19, 2 pm—Nancy sing in
Spice of Life at Chandler Center for the Arts
​Thur, Mar 20, 6 pm—Nancy sing in
Spice of Life at Chandler Center for the Arts
​Sat, Mar 21—
Phoenix Spring Fling Recital, time & location TBD

​Wed, Apr 1—9th of 10 tuition payments due
Fri, Apr 3, 7 pm—FCMTA Adult Recital, 3633 Rocky Stream, Fort Collins, 80528
Sat, Apr 4, 3 pm—Denver Group Class at Erin and Jason’s home,
Sun, Apr 12—Happy Easter!
Tues, Apr 14—Happy Birthday to Bernadette!
Sun, Apr 19—DAMTA Student Musicale​
Wed, Apr 22—Happy Birthday to Eryn!

Fri, May 1—final tuition #10 of 10 due
Sat, May 2, 3 pm—Denver recital rehearsal at Erin and Jason’s home
​Sun, May 3—Happy Birthday to Catherine!
Fri, May 8, 7 pm—FCMTA Formal Recital, Foothills Unitarian Church, 1815 Yorktown Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80526​
Sun, May 10—Happy Mother’s Day!
Wed, May 13, 10:30 am—Nancy sing at DAMTA Teachers Musicale
Sun, May 17—DAMTA Student Musicale​
​​Mon, May 25—Memorial Day
​Tues, May 26—last lessons for contract year
​May 27-29—Colorado State Music Teachers Association Annual Conference
​Sat, May 30, 4 pm— Denver Spring Fling Recital at Erin and Jason’s home

​May 31-July 21—8-week Summer Session

July 22-Aug 8—STUDIO CLOSED​​

​​


​​



Au