Studio Newsletter with Calendar

tar-of-show Erin Moran out of her wig, Nancy, & Mollie Moran after Thoroughly Modern Millie; and Nick Lormand and Nan
September 2017

Current Lesson Openings: Accepting up to three (3) new students at this time!

Phoenix Events
Important date change! I am unable to attend the PAVA Conference on Oct 21, so we WILL have lessons that day. (This date will replace Nov 11, as we must fly out of town that weekend for a family event.) Please change your calendars to reflect this!

Reminder: Please add April 18, 2018, to your calendars if you are interested in competing in the Arizona Musicfest Vocal Competition! And let me know!

Potential dates for recitals are Dec 2 and May 26. These will be confirmed later, as we may be splitting a recital with a piano teacher.

Denver Events
I’m really looking forward to Oct 7! Review those words and get all of your music under your belts! Dinner out afterwards!

Helpful Hints
“Dancers fall down trying for the extra pirouette. Actors flub lines while developing their character. Scientists perform experiments that sometimes fail. Singers sometimes sound bad. So much of learning and growing is trial and error. Would you like to tell me how you’re going to accomplish growth without the trial and error part? Want to know a treatment for fear of failure? Try this mantra: ‘Clumsy before graceful, ugly before beautiful, bad before good.’” Robert Irwin in NATS Journal

Off-beat Experiences of Professionals:
“During my performance as Gypsy in ’69 at the Bonfils Theatre in Denver, as I rushed off to get around to the back of the set, the rolling set piece they were pulling off went over the edge of my foot. Hurt like blazes, but had to do the final Minsky scene. Threw on the headpiece, grabbed the huge white fur stole, rushed up the stairs in back, and got through it. When I was finally able to check, my high-heeled silver shoe was full of blood from the laceration. Not fun!” (Nancy E. Harris)

​KUDOS!
Congratulations to Astrid! I’m very proud of you and all of the work you’ve done! (See below, from Astrid’s mom, Sindi, re Astrid’s Broadway camp):

“Kudos to you! Celeste Simone, who coaches Broadway singers, was so impressed with Astrid's technique that she asked Astrid for contact information for you. She apparently has been looking for someone in the Phoenix area who she could recommend to folks needing fantastic instruction...

​​Astrid had a great call-back with manager Susan Barr of Bohemia Group (LA branch). They want to work with her. We're also waiting to schedule a second call-back with Naomi Kolstein with the NYC Bohemia Group branch...Needless to say, Astrid is over the moon!”


Cheers, Nance

 
STUDIO CALENDAR

ALL FOLLOWING DATES (EXCEPT NATIONAL HOLIDAYS) ARE TENTATIVE AND SUBJECT TO CHANGE
​(
Green is Denver only, Blue is Phoenix only, Red is studio closed, White is everyone)

Fri, Sept 1—Tuition DUE! After the 5th, please add $5 late fee.
Mon, Sept 4—Labor Day
​Sun, Sept 17, 2 pm—DAMTA Musicale at Classic Pianos of Denver, 1332 S Broadway, Denver 80210
Thur, Sept 21—EVMTA meeting
Sat, Sept 30, 1:30—Phoenix Group Class


Sun, Oct 1—Tuition DUE! After the 5th, please add $5 late fee.
STUDIO CLOSED  Oct 6-19
​Sat, Oct 7—Denver Students’ Fall Fling 3 pm Rehearsal & 4:15 Recital, Rockley’s Music, 8555 W. Colfax Ave., Lakewood CO 80215
Mon, Oct 9—Columbus Day
Wed, Oct 11—N at DAMTA meeting
Sun, Oct 15, 2 pm—DAMTA Musicale—N hostess​

Thur, Oct 19—EVMTA meeting
Sat, Oct 21--Lessons resume​
Sat, Oct 28, 1:30—Phoenix Group Class
Tue, Oct 31—EVMTA Fall Recital registration due, and HAPPY HALLOWEEN!

Wed, Nov 1—Tuition DUE! After the 5th, please add $5 late fee.
Thur, Nov 2—Phoenix students rehearse with NATS accompanist
Nov 4 & 5—VSNATS Music Theatre Student Auditions at ASU in Tempe 

Nov 5— Daylight Savings
Nov 10 & 11—Veteran’s Day celebrated and STUDIO CLOSED!
Thur, Nov 16—EVMTA meeting
Sun, Nov 19, 2 pm—DAMTA Musicale at Classic Pianos of Denver, 1332 S Broadway, Denver 80210
Thur, Nov 23— Happy Thanksgiving!
​STUDIO CLOSED Nov 23-Nov 27

​​Fri, Dec 1—Tuition DUE! After the 5th, please add $5 late fee.
Sat, Dec 2, 1:30—Phoenix Group Class/RECITAL
STUDIO CLOSED Dec 17-Jan 1
Sun, Dec 24— Christmas Eve
Mon, Dec 25— Merry Christmas!

Mon, Jan 1—Happy New Year, 2018! Tuition DUE! After the 5th, please add $5 late fee.
Tue, Jan 2—Lessons resume for one week
STUDIO CLOSED (for Cal-West NATS) Jan 11-15
Fri, Jan 12—Travel to Salt Lake City, Utah
Sat-Sun, Jan 13 & 14—Cal-West NATS Regional Auditions in Salt Lake City
Mon, Jan 15—MLK Day, Travel home from Salt Lake City

Tues, Jan 16—lessons resume
Thur, Jan 18—EVMTA meeting
Sun, Jan 21, 2 pm—DAMTA Musicale at Classic Pianos of Denver, 1332 S Broadway, Denver 80210
Sat, Jan 27, 1:30—Phoenix Group Class

Thurs, Feb 1—Tuition DUE! After the 5th, please add $5 late fee.
​Fri, Feb 2—Happy Groundhog Day!

Wed, Feb 14—Happy Valentine’s Day!
Thur, Feb 15—EVMTA meeting
Sun, Feb 18, 2 pm—DAMTA Musicale at Classic Pianos of Denver, 1332 S Broadway, Denver 80210
Mon, Feb 19—Presidents’ Day​
Sat, Feb 24, 1:30—Phoenix Group Class
End of month—submission deadline for Arizona Musicfest vocal competition (www.azmusicfest.org)

Sat, Mar 1—Tuition DUE! After the 5th, please add $5 late fee.
Sun, Mar 11—Daylight Savings begins (Denver, set clocks back!)
Thur, Mar 15—EVMTA meeting
Sat, Mar 17—Happy St Patrick’s Day!
Sun, Mar 18, 2 pm—DAMTA Musicale at Classic Pianos of Denver, 1332 S Broadway, Denver 80210​​
Tues, Mar 20—First Day of Spring!
Sat, Mar 31, 1:30—Phoenix Group Class

Sat, Apr 1—Tuition DUE! After the 5th, please add $5 late fee
Sun, Apr 1—Easter
Sun, Apr 15, 2 pm—DAMTA Musicale at Classic Pianos of Denver, 1332 S Broadway, Denver 80210​
Tues, Apr 17—Tax Day
Wed, Apr 18—Arizona Musicfest Vocal Competition
Thur, Apr 19—EVMTA meeting
Sun, Apr 22—Earth Day
Sat, Apr 28, 1:30—Phoenix Group Class

Tues, May 1—Tuition DUE! After the 5th, please add $5 late fee (LAST contract-year tuition payment)
STUDIO CLOSED May 4-10
May 4-10—N in Denver for Recital (5th), DAMTA Teachers Concert (9th)
Thur, May 11—classes resume
Sun, May 13—Happy Mother’s Day!
Thur, May 17—EVMTA meeting
Sun, May 20, 2 pm—DAMTA Musicale at Classic Pianos of Denver, 1332 S Broadway, Denver 80210​
Sat, May 26, 1:30—Phoenix Group Class/ RECITAL
STUDIO CLOSED May 27-June 4
Mon, May 28—Memorial Day
May 31-June 3—ASMTA Conference

June 5-July 28–-8-week summer session begins
Sun, Jun 17—Happy Father’s Day!
Sat, Jun 30, 1:30—Phoenix Group Class

Wed, Jul 4—Happy Independence Day!
Sat, Jul 28, 1:30—Phoenix Group Class
STUDIO CLOSED Jul 28-Aug 13

Wed, Aug 1—FIRST of 10 averaged Contract-year Tuitions DUE! After the 5th, please add $5 late fee
​August 14—start of 2018-2019 Contract Year




​​



Au